Advisory Board of the Yearbook of the Institute of East-Central Europe

Tasks of the Scientific Board of the Yearbook of the Institute of East-Central Europe

The Scientific Board of the Yearbook of the Institute of East-Central Europe (Pol. Instytut Europy Środkowo-Wschodniej, IESW) is an opinion-giving and advisory body for the Editorial Team [A1] of the Yearbook. Its tasks are as follows:
1. monitoring the substantive level of the journal;
2. in agreement with the Editorial Team, delineating the directions and areas of research undertaken within individual thematic issues of the Yearbook;
3. promoting the journal within the domestic and international scientific communities;
4. participating in meetings of the Scientific Board of the IESW Yearbook with the Editorial Team (once every three years).

The Scientific Board of the Yearbook of the Institute of East-Central Europe:

József Böröcz [ORCID 0000-0003-4672-4293]–professor at the department of Sociology, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey; member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences; president of the Karl Polányi Institute for Global Social Analysis, Corvinus University, Budapest; Advisory Council Member of the Karl Polanyi Institute of Global Political Economy, Concordia University, Montréal; e-mail:

William Collins Donahue – profesor nauk humanistycznych na University of Notre Dame (USA); dyrektor Initiative for Global Europe, Keough School of Global Affairs; e-mail:

Adolf Juzwenko – director of the Ossoliński National Institute in Wrocław (Poland); member of the Polish-Ukrainian Commission for Common Cultural Heritage; chairman of the Board of the Jan Nowak-Jeziorański College of Eastern Europe in Wrocław; e-mail:

Gediminas Kazėnas – director of the Political Science Institute at the Mykolas Romeris University in Vilnius (Lithuania); councilor in the Vilnius local government; member of the board of the Lithuanian Education Association “Rytas”; e-mail: gkazenas@mruni.eueu

Jūratė Kiaupienė – historian; researcher at the Lithuanian Institute of History in Vilnius (Lithuania); e-mail:

Michal Kořan [ORCID 0000-0003-4881-2238] – assistant professor at the Department of International Relations and European Studies, Masaryk University in Brno (Czech Republic); the president of the Board of the Global Arena Research Institute (Prague); the former Deputy Director of the Aspen Institute Central Europe (Prague); e-mail:

Volodymyr V. Kravchenko – professor in the Department of History and Classics, University of Alberta (Canada); director of the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies University of Alberta University; editorial board member of: Strategic Priorities (Kiev), East/West: Journal of Ukrainian Studies (Edmonton), Harvard Ukrainian Studies (Cambridge), Ukraina Moderna (Lviv); e-mail:

Jussi P. Laine [ORCID 0000-0003-0377-5170]– assistant professor of Multidisciplinary Border Studies,Karelian Institute, University of Eastern Finland; assistant profesor Oulu University; president-elect Association for Borderlands Studies; e-mail:
Markijan Malskyj – profesor and dean of the International Relations Faculty, Ivan Franko National University in Lviv (Ukraine); ambasador of Ukraine to Poland (2010-2014); e-mail:

Joseph F. Patrouch – professor at the Department of History and Classics, University of Alberta (Canada); directorof theWirth Institute for Austrian and Central European Studies University of Alberta; e-mail:

Serhii Plokhii [ORCID 0000-0003-1667-6550] – Mykhailo S. Hrushevs’kyi professor of Ukrainian History at the Department of History, Harvard University (USA); director of the Ukrainian Research Institute, Harvard University; editorial board member of Harvard Ukrainian Studies; e-mail:

Antony Polonsky – emeritus professor of Holocaust Studies at Brandeis University (USA); vice-president of Polish-Jewish Studies in Oxford (Great Britain); vice-president of the American Association for Polish-Jewish Studies, Cambridge, MA (USA); e-mail:

Andžej Pukšto – associate professor of the Department of Political Science in Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas (Lithuania); email:

Adam Daniel Rotfeld – profesorof pollitical science; diplomat; former vice-minister (2001-2005) and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland (2005); director of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (1991-2002); co-chairman of Polish-Russian Group on Difficult Matters (2008-2012); member of many consultative bodies and scientific councils; e-mail:

Henryk Samsonowicz [ORCID 0000-0002-6069-2526] – emeritus profesor of medieval history at the Institute of History of University of Warsaw; member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the Polish Academy of Sciences; e-mail:

Aleksander Smolar – political scientist and publicist; president of the Stefan Batory Foundation; vice-president of Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna (Austria); member of International Forum Research Council in Washington (USA); e-mail:

George Soroka – lecturer on Government and Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies at Harvard University (USA); affiliated with the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies, and the Ukrainian Research Institute, Harvard University; e-mail:

Oleksij Tołoczko – Director of the Centre for Kievan Rus’ Studies, Institute of Ukrainian History, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (Ukraine); lecturer at the National University of “Kyiv Mohyla Academy”, the Central European University, Harvard University, and Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv; editorial board member of Український гуманітарний огляд (Kiev) advisory board memeber of Harvard Ukrainian Studies; e-mail:

Natalia Yakovenko – professor at the Department of History of the National University of “Kyiv-Mohyla Academy” (Ukraine); e-mail: